A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

I had so much fun digging through the art portfolio the other week, and I’m so happy my three inspirational cards are finally hanging above my desk. Now that I’ve cracked into the art portfolio and made some progress, I keep thinking about what’s next. So I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite finds and give everyone a peek at what I’ve been collecting over the years.

I can’t promise that they will be up on the walls anytime soon, but here are some of my favorites:

A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

Italian Love Notes. Justin and I found these postcards in Florence, Italy, at a little stand on the Ponte Vecchio just before we got engaged. In fact, I still have the time-stamped receipt in the envelope I keep the postcards in and it makes me smile every time I pull out the cards and it flutters to the floor. We used to have these framed in our old apartment where they hung in dark wood frames against sunny yellow kitchen walls. Even though our California kitchen is much larger, there is less wall space, so these beauties were returned to the art portfolio (for now).

A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

These gorgeous watercolor paintings also came from our engagement trip to Italy, but I can’t quite remember which city we found them in. I do remember stopping by the cart of an older gentleman who was selling the most exquisite watercolor paintings and just knowing we had to have one. Or two. The odd size {4×4} means I haven’t yet found a frame that will fit these little bits of sunshine, but it is on my perpetual to-do list.

A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

Change of Address. When we received this envelope in the mail a few years ago, I knew it was too pretty to throw out. Justin’s cousin Sarah Jane always sends the best holiday cards. She has her own design and photography business {you can check her out here}, and is always so creative with everything, right down to the packaging. This particular year she went with vintage stamps and kraft paper envelopes. I’ve been saving her envelopes ever since, knowing that one day I’ll be able to make a little wall collage of all these eclectic pieces that will (1) be adorable, and (2) show all the fun and exciting places we’ve lived. Thanks, Sarah Jane!

A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

State Pride. Speaking of living in a whole bunch of different places…the ladies over at 1canoe2 came up with an amazing state pride letterpress print collection earlier this year and I happily snatched up New York, Maryland, and California. I’m double, triple, quadruple crossing my fingers that they come up with a Washington, DC print soon. I was thinking of mixing these in with Sarah Jane’s envelopes, but I can’t quite make up my mind. My second thought was perhaps they would look just right hanging under the American Flag wall art I painted out of old palettes.

What do you think? Leave a comment and let me know!

Screen shot 2014-09-03 at 12.40.25 AM

Live With Passion. This just speaks to me. I picked this find up at World Market the other week. I have the inkling of an idea for some more motivational wall art (possibly for my office?) that I’ve been trying to work out in my head. I’m keeping this one on the back burner for now, so you’ll have to stay tuned to find out…

Odds and Ends. A birthday card I bought for Justin one year that just makes me giggle every time I look at it. A postcard picked up at a coffee shop in West Virginia. A lovely drawing (or two) by the talented Marissa McInturff. And oodles and oodles of old maps.

That, my friends, is what’s in the art portfolio. Hope you enjoyed flipping through the collection as much as I always do!

-Shayna

9 thoughts on “A Look Inside The Art Portfolio

  1. Great blog post, Sarah Jane’s envelopes are adorable! I love going into card and stationary stores when I’m on vacation because I almost always find the most unique cards that don’t look like they came from the tiny card section at the drugstore across the street.

  2. So fun! I need to start saving little art pieces I find here and there, like beautiful wedding invitations I receive and sketches I’ve done. Also, I love the Italy prints! I’m leaving for Italy next week, you’ve inspired me to pick up a few prints of my own while I’m away! Beautiful, fun post 🙂

  3. These are so lovely! I just love letters and stationary. I typically keep a majority of the ones sent to me because of the note inside. For some reason, I never thought of framing them or putting them up. It would be something special that I know is hidden inside. I love this!! Thanks!

  4. You are so sweet! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed our Xmas cards. Every year I dread coming up with an idea and then whoosh, I’m obsessed and can do nothing else. Must say I feel unworthy in the mix of Marissa and those gorgeous Italian watercolors. Fun collection!

  5. Pingback: Putting on my Happy Shoes | bourbontea

Leave a Comment

