A Little Bit of Inspiration

Do you ever see something when you’re out and about and just know you have to bring it home with you? For me, it happens all the time. Especially with my rampant ideas for future “wall art.” I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve spotted the perfect card/postcard/painting/print/ photograph/whatever and simply felt like I must make it a part of my home and my daily life. The minute I see it, it speaks to me and I know. It will be lovingly purchased and brought home and framed and mounted on the wall in just the perfect place.

But what happens more often than not, is that I buy it…

bring it home…

let it sit out for a few weeks so I can admire it…

say I’m going to get a frame for it…

and then neatly tuck it away in what has become known as the “art portfolio.”

The art portfolio houses all such lovely things that have not yet found their way into a frame and onto a wall. Sometimes it’s because I can’t find the right size frame. Or because I’m one card/postcard/painting/print/photograph/whatever away from the perfect collage or gallery wall. [Or because I’m being lazy and I need a bit of motivation to make it happen.]

Every once in a while I’ll flip back through the art portfolio and fall in love with the images I’ve collected all over again. Some bring me words of inspiration, others joy in happy memories of places I’ve been or things I’ve seen, or people who gifted the images to me along the way.

I was flipping through the art portfolio the other day when three merry cards caught my eye:

A Little Bit of Inspiration

They found me on a rainy summer beach day at the New Jersey shore. With the rain coming down and no end in sight, I found myself spending a lazy day wandering in and out of shops, daydreaming about the future, and wondering if ice cream was an appropriate answer for dinner. The minute I saw these, I knew it was meant to be. The cards read:

She packed up her potential and all she had learned, grabbed a cute pair of shoes and headed out to change a few things.

I am fairly certain that given a cape and a nice tiara, I could save the world.

The world is full of people who will go their whole lives and not actually live one day.  She did not intend on being one of them.

Inspiring, right? I couldn’t choose among them, so I bought them all.

And took them home.

And stared for weeks.

At the time, I was still in law school enjoying a much-needed summer break. I left the cards propped up on my dresser for a daily bit of inspiration before heading out to my summer internship. I promised myself that one day, when I had a “real” job, they would hang in my office as great reminder of all I had achieved in the past and would continue to achieve in the future. Eventually though, the summer came to an end and so did my internship, and I packed them up and moved on.

Fast forward 5+ years later, and they were still sitting in the bag I bought them in, tucked neatly into the art portfolio. Feeling the need for a bit of inspiration in my office life, I finally pulled them out last week and got to work.

A Little Bit of Inspiration

I found a set of simple pre-matted frames at Michaels for only $19.99 {for a four-pack!}. With a 40% off coupon, that came out to $11.99 for all four, or only $2.99 each.

I loved the extra pop of color the coordinating envelopes provided to the cards, so I included them too as an extra layer of matting.

How cute are these? I hung them right above the desk in my home office for a daily dose of inspiration.

A Little Bit of Inspiration
What do you think? What’s your daily bit of inspiration? What’s hanging in your office? Leave a comment and let me know!

-Shayna

 

6 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Inspiration

  1. Definitely awesome words to inspire. And such a cute way to contemplate them daily. As for my inspiration – Iearning to “dance in the rain!”

  2. I love saving and framing cards! If I find a great card I like, I tend to buy two. One to send to someone special (most often you) and one to save for myself. These three that you have are especially great!

  3. Pingback: A Look Inside The Art Portfolio | With Love, From California

Leave a Comment

