Be Our Guest…Again

Ah, the guest room. If you’ve been following along, you know that this room is a continual WIP {Work in Progress}. Moving from a one-bedroom apartment to a two-bedroom home has left us in awe at the luxury of space, but a bit short-changed in the furniture and décor department. What started with a mere mattress and box spring quickly gained momentum with a new bed frame, beachy-calm bedding, a DIY headboard, and some reinvented wall sconces. Here’s a quick reminder of what it looked like last time we left off back in December:

DIY Headboard

But if you remember my master plan, something was missing:

DIY Headboard

The wall art.

Seeing as we had/continue to have VIP guests coming to visit this spring/summer, I knew this project had to be at the top of my list.

Picture frame hunting for square frames turned out to be a bit trickier than I had anticipated, but in the end, I found the perfect frames at Michaels. I thought I might have to spray paint something to match the room (you know how much I love Rust-Oleum’s oil rubbed bronze spray paint), but I found frames with a bronze finish similar to that on the curtain rod and wall sconces already in the room. Bonus: they even came with mats!

As soon as I brought them home and put them in the room, the idea came to life.

I wanted to keep the colors in the frames neutral to match the curtains and to continue to tone down the blues and greens in the bedding. I was brainstorming what I could do with a khaki and white combination, when suddenly, I knew I had to incorporate burlap. I considered (for a brief moment) wrapping the mats in burlap, but this seemed like an awful lot of work, so I decided to use it as a background inside the mat instead.

And then, I knew. Three frames meant three words. Be. Our. Guest. I quickly ran over to my computer, typed up the words, and played with the font type and size until I had just what I wanted, before hitting print.

I cut out three squares of burlap (leftover from my DIY Give Thanks Banner project) about ½” larger than the opening of the mats. One at a time, I placed the burlap square over my font print-out and carefully painted over the text. I used white acrylic paint and a small, flat paint brush.

For tips and tricks on how to paint over burlap, check out my DIY Give Thanks Banner from last November. Remember that the paint will bleed through the wide weave of the burlap onto the computer paper, so make sure to wipe off any excess paint before placing each fresh sheet of burlap on top of the next word. {You could alleviate this issue by printing each word on a separate sheet of paper, but that just seems wasteful, doesn’t it?}

I let my lettering dry overnight before securing each piece of burlap into a frame. The burlap put up a bit of a fight when I tried to get it to lay flat inside the mat, so I just used some craft glue to secure down the sides. I glued the burlap directly onto the back of the frame, gave it about 30 minutes to dry, and then placed the mat and glass on top.

And voilà! Guest room wall art!

So simple and so easy! What do you think? Who wants to come visit next?

-Shayna

 

11 thoughts on “Be Our Guest…Again

  1. I volunteer! So simple and so easy? For someone as talented as you perhaps! A flat sided brush is a must have for this project so I have learned.

  2. Pingback: A Gardening Aside: My Black Thumb | With Love, From California

  3. Pingback: Creating a Functional Gallery Wall | With Love, From California

  4. Pingback: With Love, From 2014 | With Love, From California

Leave a Comment

