7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 3: Ornaments Aren’t Just for the Tree}

7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 2: Ornaments Aren't Just for the Tree}

Day 3:  Ornaments Aren’t Just for the Tree

While ornaments are traditionally meant for your Christmas tree, there are oh so many other wonderful places you can put them and ways to display them throughout your house.  When I was working on adding my holiday accent color, I happened to spy a box of beautiful red ornaments at Michaels for 60% off.  I happily brought them home and sprinkled them on tabletops and on our fireplace mantle where I neatly tucked them into my pre-existing garlands for an extra pop of color.  They looked shiny and red and oh so festive, so I decided I needed to display a few more out in the open.  I used a spool of white grosgrain ribbon to tie miniature bows onto the ornaments and then strung them up at varying heights on top of the windowpane mirror in our dining room:

7 Days of Holiday Cheer

I don’t know why, but it reminds me of the line “visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.”  There’s just something magical and whimsical about it I think.

Speaking of which, I was in a friend’s house the other day who had taken a bunch of ornaments and hung them from her ceiling at varying heights using fishing line.  She covered her entire entryway ceiling leading down the hall into her family room where her family’s Christmas tree was.  It was such a welcome surprise when she opened the door and it was an incredibly magical walk down the hallway.  I should have snapped a picture, but I was too mesmerized {sorry!}.  Here are a few similar ideas I found on Pinterest:

Clockwise from top left:  1.  via Ikea Canada |  2.  I couldn’t find the original source, but you can check out the pin here  |  3.  via Imprintalish {Don’t forget to dress up your chandelier!}  |  4.  I couldn’t find the original source, but you can check out the pin here

Another great way to display ornaments is to use any kind of decorative glass you might have on hand, including large bowls, mason jars, and lanterns.  This might sound like an expensive venture, but remember that ornaments don’t have to be pricey.  You can usually pick up packages of bulk ornaments (great for decorating!) at low prices at places like Target, Walmart, HomeDepot, and even the Dollar Tree.  I snagged mine at Michaels for 60% off and I think right now they have up to 70% off all Christmas decorations.

Need some inspiration?  Just head over to my {Winter} Holiday Decorating Pinterest Board.  Here’s a peek at some of my favorites:

Clockwise from top left:  1.  Bowl of ornaments via Pinterest  |  2.  Cake stand filled with ornaments via Adventures in Decorating  |  3.  Lantern filled with ornaments via Adventures in Decorating  |  4.  “Merry Christmas” fireplace via HGTV.com  |  5.  Ornaments on fireplace via Circa 1951

Don’t think that if you don’t celebrate Christmas this post isn’t for you.  You can use all the same ideas with blue and silver ornaments (or blue and gold, or silver and gold, or …) to help spruce up your Hanukkah décor.  Yes, I know that Hanukkah is over.  But I felt cheated this year since it came so early so I’m determined to celebrate for the entire month of December and you should be too.

Check out these amazing hanging dreidels from Mili & Sara:

7 Days of Holiday CheerHow cute would they look mixed in with sparkly gold ornaments?  You do know I have dreidels on my Christmas tree, right?

If you’re not one for holiday-specific decorating, try using ornaments in neutral colors like white, gold, and silver.  These colors lean more towards a wintery-mix than any specific holiday and will keep you feeling festive all season long.  Look for these colors in star or snowflake shapes to help maximize your seasonal cheer.

Happy Hanging!

-Shayna

2 thoughts on “7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 3: Ornaments Aren’t Just for the Tree}

  1. such a fun post and wonderful decorating idea – i saw ornaments hanging from a chandelier at pottery barn the other day and instantly wanted the look- such an easy way to add festiveness to the home 🙂

Leave a Comment

