7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 2: Bring Nature Into Your Home}

Day 2:  Bring Nature Into Your Home

When coming up with my 7 Days of Holiday Cheer I really tried not to borrow too many ideas from my 7 Days of Fall, but this one just had to be recycled.  The key to decorating for winter holidays is to create a warm cozy safe space in your house away from the icy cold winter weather.  And to do so, you need to remind yourself of the winter wonderland that’s waiting right outside your front door.  So go ahead, and let nature in.

My go-to winter decorating item is fake fir and pinecones.  If you can afford the real fir garlands and wreaths, then more power to you.  But I can’t.  Especially not to throw away at the end of each season.  So I’ve been collecting garlands from Michaels to drape across my fireplace mantel, table tops, and anywhere else I fancy needs a bit of “sprucing” up {pun intended}.

I also went hunting in our garden one day and decided to make good use of our rosemary bush.  I cut off a bunch of sprigs of rosemary and tucked them into small pitchers and containers throughout the house.  If you (or your neighbor) happen to have a rosemary bush, this is an awesome, yet inexpensive way to decorate.  The sprigs look incredibly festive and they smell fantastic.  In fact, I liked them so much that I gathered up a bunch of mason jars, submerged the sprigs in water, poured some cranberries in, and topped them off with tea lights for our holiday party last weekend.  Thank you Pinterest for the inspiration!

In addition to tall the greenery, I suggest picking up a few bags of cinnamon scented pinecones if you haven’t already.  As you know, I already had a bunch of these delicious smelling goodies sitting around the house in pieces of decorative glass.  I just switched out my fall raffia with the winter ribbons I purchased in my accent color and voila!  Good as new!

I happened to have a bit too much fun with my glue gun the other night, not to mention a bit too much eggnog, and ended up: (1) hot gluing strips of ribbon to a bunch of pinecones, (2) hot gluing adorable little bows on top, and (3) hanging them across a window pane mirror we have in the dining room.  No regrets the next morning, it still looked fantastic.

While I had my glue gun out, I was also lamenting the lack of snow here in Northern California.  I happened to have a few boxes of glittery snowflake ornaments from the Dollar Tree, so I hot glued strips of ribbon to those as well and hung them at altering heights from our big front window and the doors leading out to our deck.  It may not be real snow, but it sure does the trick of making me feel festive!

The great thing about these decorations is that they’re not holiday specific.  Which means that no matter what holiday(s) you celebrate, you can bring nature-y goodness into your home and keep it there all winter long.  It’s always a bit sad to un-decorate after the holidays are over, but with firs, pinecones, and snowflakes, the fun and festivities can continue well into February or even March.

Enjoy!

-Shayna

3 thoughts on “7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 2: Bring Nature Into Your Home}

  1. i love bringing nature into the home all times of the year- esp. the holidays 🙂 i actually just posted a fun way to incorporate logs into a holiday message — would definitely fit in with your theme 🙂

Leave a Comment

