7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 1: Add a Splash of Color}

After I shared my 7 Days of Fall: A Day-by-Day Guide to Embracing the Season, I received so many wonderful and encouraging comments from friends, family, and readers.  One reoccurring request I kept getting was, “Can you do 7 days of decorating for every season?”  Well, I’m not sure if I can do it for every season, but I sure can try!  So without further ado, today starts 7 exciting days of holiday cheer that will hopefully supply you with the inspiration, motivation, and perhaps a few new ideas on how to decorate your home for the holidays and bring on the cheer.

Day 1:  Add a Splash of Color 

I like to start my holiday decorating by coming up with an accent color to use throughout the house.  A little pop of color can make a big difference and will have you feeling festive in no time.  I suggest choosing your accent color based on the color palette you already have.  For example, my family room is tan with a lot of navy and red accents, so I chose to play up the red this year to complement my current palette and enhance what I already had.

Red is a pretty popular holiday color, but if I were working on someone else’s house, say my sister’s awesome new family room that you saw in Rae’s Texas Family Room Makeover, I might choose differently.  To accent her pretty metallics and make them pop against all the neutrals we used, I would go with a hunter green accent color in her house.  Hunter green is rich and dark and wintery, and it would perfectly compliment her olive green sofa.

Another great holiday accent color option is baby blue.  It reminds me of beautiful winter snowflakes and is perfect for this time of year.  If you already have a colorful house, you might want to consider using white or other neutrals to tone down your colors and make them holiday-ready.

So what do I mean by an accent color, and where should you add it?

STEP 1: Repurpose

I like to start by ransacking my house for everyday items I already have in my accent color of choice.  That means going room to room and finding things to decorate with that I already own.  Since I was using red this year, I found a bunch of red pillar candles I had stored away, a couple of red throws, some pillows, and a few books.  I placed these strategically throughout my family room and dining room to enhance the red objects I already had in there.

I’ve also been saving a number of holiday catalogs that have been coming in the mail (with mostly some form of red or other festive color cover) that I positioned in small stacks throughout the room.  They’re fun for guests to flip through over a morning cup of coffee and they add holiday cheer with their beautiful holiday cover art.  Some of my favorites include Crate & Barrel, J.Crew, West Elm, and of course, Pottery Barn.

STEP 2: Holiday decorations

You don’t need to go out and buy all new holiday decorations to support your accent color.  Pick and choose from what you already have and maybe add one or two new holidays tchotchkes to your collection that pull in key pops of your accent color.  I already had a bunch of garlands with red berries in them, a red holiday stocking, and a couple of red holiday signs.  I decided that was enough for now, but I am eyeing up some red holiday pillow covers over at Pottery Barn if they happen to go on sale any time soon…

STEP 3: Tie it all together

Hit the craft store and pick up a few rolls of ribbon in your accent color.  I found a pretty red and green plaid, as well as a red grosgrain with white stitching.  Work the ribbons into your décor by using them on holiday wreaths, wrapped around candles, as a hanger for your stockings, and on your holiday tree.  If you still have ribbon leftover, it’s great for adding a special touch to your holiday wrapping, too.

See you tomorrow for Day 2 of 7 Days of Holiday Cheer!

-Shayna

P.S. I suppose this is a bit tardy seeing as today is already December 15th, but I’ve been so busy decorating and crafting and baking and spreading holiday cheer that I wasn’t quite ready to take pictures and share the fun with y’all until this weekend.  But remember, it’s never too late to add to your holiday decor, and as my mom would say: You can never over-decorate, you can only under-decorate 🙂

4 thoughts on “7 Days of Holiday Cheer {Day 1: Add a Splash of Color}

  1. Looks great! I use red too with silver accents in my apt. My mom uses gold in our house. I’m really excited to see your holiday post magic!

  2. So true Miss Shay. It’s better to be overdressed than underdressed and the same holds true in terms of holiday decor. You learned well my little grasshopper!

  3. Pingback: Redecorating the Blog | With Love, From California

  4. Pingback: {Throwback Thursday} 7 Days of Holiday Cheer | With Love, From California

Leave a Comment

