Everyone Loves Pie

My chocolate bourbon pecan pie

My Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie {all credit to the wonderful Cathy for this amazing recipe}

Perhaps this is a bit off the beaten path of my DIY-building-crafting-and-decorating-themed blog, but I wanted to take a moment to share the joys of Thursday’s Thanksgiving Feast with you all.

Thanksgiving is such a special time of year.  For me, it’s the one holiday I always try the hardest to get home for.  It means family, togetherness, and most of all, thankfulness for all the blessings we’re lucky enough to have in our lives.  Unfortunately, going home this year was not an option for Justin and me, so at 28 years old, I finally spent my first Thanksgiving away from “home.”

Knowing it might be tough, I wholeheartedly threw myself into planning an all out bash.  Many of Justin’s fellow soldiers were unable to go home for the holiday as well, so we decided to host Thanksgiving at our place and to open our doors to others who weren’t able to spend the day with those they love.

We spent much of Wednesday and Thursday cooking and baking and decorating and table setting (you can guess who did what), and in the end it turned out absolutely perfect.  Don’t get me wrong, the day certainly wasn’t without a mishap or two.  Our garbage disposal broke.  Our sink backed up.  We had to wash our dishes in the laundry sink in the garage.  Speaking of dishes, we didn’t have enough.  We had to mix and match.  Things spilled.  And fell.  A glass or two got broken.

But it was fantastic.  Because our house was filled with love and appreciation and happiness.  Everyone was so grateful to have a place to call “home,” even if just for the day.  So the spills and the mess and the backed up garbage disposal and the mismatched plates didn’t matter.  Because we had each other.  And a whole lot of bourbon.

And speaking of bourbon [insert shameless plug here], I put a little bit of extra love into my Thanksgiving pies this year in hopes of winning 1canoe2’s Everyone Loves Pie Photo Contest.  If you haven’t heard of these ladies, you can check them out here.  They’re an incredibly talented bunch of women who pretty much make magic out of a barn in Missouri—gorgeous paintings, greeting cards, tea towels, calendars, hand painted globes—they’ve got it all.  I entered my Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie into the contest and am SO very close to winning.  Voting closes tonight at midnight, so if you’d like to contribute to the cause {the winner gets a free set of their fabulous tea towels, and more importantly, bragging rights} you can vote via their Facebook Page here or by clicking this link.

Thanks to all for reading and for voting.

There are so many things to be thankful for this year.  Throughout the month Justin and I have been creating a 30 days of thankful list on our kitchen chalkboard wall.  Things added this weekend include bourbon, a working garbage disposal, and pie.

30 Days of Thankful

Today I am adding those that defend our country and keep us safe at home.  I am proud and honored to have fed so many lovely people and soldiers this Thanksgiving.  I will always be thankful for this amazing country we live in and those that serve it.  Amen.

-Shayna

5 thoughts on “Everyone Loves Pie

  1. What a beautiful blog post. From the lovely table setting to knowing exactly what to be thankful for …you did your mama proud! …and those pies my dear, you did your Grandma proud!

  2. ahh! i’m stumbling upon this post a little too late for voting and i’m so.very.sorry! your pie looks ah-may-zing and your thoughtful musings on the holidays make me want to leave the office and go so something.. holiday-ish asap 🙂 i’m heading over to read about these missouri barn ladies right now 🙂

Leave a Comment

