Fall Crafts {60-70% Off!}: DIY Acorn Hanger

Fall Acorns

Supplies:

fall tchotchkes (I used acorns) | burlap ribbon (with wire if possible) | grosgrain ribbon | tacky glue | hot glue | scissors

I’m sure you’re wondering what happened to those adorable acorns my Mom and I found for $1.59 each on clearance at Michaels, and where in my house they could have possibly gone.  I suggested tying them all together with some twine and looping them around a door handle, but my mom was insistent that we could be much more creative than that.  In the end, we compromised and came up with this fancy version of an acorn door hanger:

I may be biased, but I think it looks adorable and it is SO simple.  Here’s how we did it:

1.  Using tacky glue, secure your grosgrain ribbon on top of the burlap ribbon.  I used recycled Pottery Barn gift wrap ribbon, as discussed in Fall Crafts {60-70% Off!} DIY Fall Monogram Hanger.  I would estimate that I used about 5 feet of ribbon for the entire acorn door hanger.

2.  Wait about an hour for the glue to dry.  This is a great time for a glass of wine.  Or two.  Which is clearly how my Mom and I spent our glue-drying time.

3.  Once your glue is dry, cut off about 2 ½ feet of the ribbon and tie one acorn to each end of it.  I made the knots loose at first so I could massage the ribbon into the position I wanted it to lay in before pulling the knots tight.  You want to make sure that the top side of the ribbon is facing up so the knots look pretty, and that the viewed from the front, the ribbon always faces up.

4.  Trim the ends of your ribbon so you have a clean cut.  I like to trim mine in a “v” shape to add a little extra something to the design.

5.  Fold the ribbon so one side is longer than the other.

6.  Take the remaining length of ribbon (the other 2 ½ feet) and tie it in a bow using the method below.

Don’t worry, you don’t actually need a “bow-maker” – you just need a friend.  I use the same exact method of tying a bow but “borrow” someone else’s two pointer fingers as a guidepost.  It’s my mom’s tried and trusted method and it works every time.  If no one is around, I can usually swing it with my big toes.  It sounds silly, but it works.  Luckily, my mom was there to help me out this time around.  Instead of positioning the bow in the middle of the ribbon, we tied the bow at one end of the ribbon so that one side hung all the way down, and the other side barely hung at all.

DIY Acorn Hanger

7.  Tuck the shorter side of the ribbon behind the bow and secure it with a dab of tacky glue.

8.  Tie the third acorn onto the long side of the ribbon.

9.  I had a piece of twine-covered wire leftover from a DIY wedding project that I used to make the actual hanger.  If you’re interested, you can pick this up in the floral department of most craft stores.  If you don’t want to spend the money though, just use a piece of a wire clothes hanger.  It’s free and the color should blend right in.  I cut a piece that was 3-4 inches long, strung it through the back of the bow, and twisted it together.  I then repositioned it so the twisty part was tucked into the back of the bow and only the top of the loop showed as a hanger.

DIY Acorn Hanger

10.  Finally, I took my first piece of ribbon (with the 2 acorns already attached) and secured it to the back of the bow with hot glue.

Voilà.  You’re done!  Hang and admire!

Disclaimer: My mom and I used burlap ribbon that had wire in it, which allowed us to give our hanger more of a shape.  Once everything was put together, we wove the ribbons through our fingers to make waves.  If you use regular ribbons your acorns will hang straight down.  The wired ribbon allowed us to play with the shape and to position the acorns right where we wanted them.

Don’t be discouraged from trying this easy DIY craft if you can’t find acorns like the ones I used (available at Michaels, now 80% off!).  You can use the same technique and instructions with almost anything.  I’m thinking of making a similar one for winter using pinecones (I would just hot glue loops of twine on top of the pinecones to make them attachable) or clusters of Christmas ornaments.

Happy crafting!

-Shayna

5 thoughts on “Fall Crafts {60-70% Off!}: DIY Acorn Hanger

  1. Pingback: Coming Soon: Rae’s Texas Family Room Makeover | With Love, From California

Leave a Comment

