7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 7: Add a Few Seasonal Items Each Year}

Day 7:  Add a Few Seasonal Items Each Year

I never like spending too much money on something that will only be out for a few short months, but I try to pick up a few items each season so my holiday collections will grow over time.  With more storage space in our new house, I finally sprung this season for a fall wreath and garlands.  I found mine at Michaels, where the garlands were 50% off starting in the beginning of September and I used a 40% coupon for the wreath (which was still full price at the time).  I usually like deep reds and oranges for fall, but since we’re living in California and up until last week it was still about 70 degrees out and I had yet to see a leaf on the ground, I went with lighter colors this year.

Some of my favorite places to pick up fall finds are at the craft store (Michaels, A.C. Moore, Jo-Ann Fabrics), the Christmas Tree Shops, Kohl’s, and Target.  Here are a few of my favorite things I’ve snagged during past seasons:

Clockwise from top left:  1.  Adorable mini-pumpkins I found at Michaels.  They came in a pack of 8 and I’ve used them for everything from a simple coffee table display to Thanksgiving place card holders.  Right now they’re individually tucked into my fall garlands to add a little extra oomph!  |  2.  I so love these pumpkin candle holders.  They have orange beads woven through the bars for that extra little bit of sparkle.  The candle holders were also a Michaels find.  Michaels has had them in stock every fall for the past three or four years, so they should still be available if you happen to love them as much as I do.  |  3.  The surface of these pumpkins are covered in bits of bright orange raffia rolled up into neat little spirals.  They look festive anywhere you put them, but right now they’re lined up against our front window to welcome visitors.  Also a — you guessed it — Michaels find.

Sometimes the best time to buy seasonal décor is after the season is over.  It may not help with this year’s decorating, but you sure will be happy next fall when you open up that storage box and find something fantastically fall inside sporting a $3.99 clearance price tag.  For me, that was my “Trick-or-Treat” pumpkin this year.  I was pleased as punch to unwrap it from a long year of storage and see the $4.49 Kohl’s clearance tag on the back.

Here are some of my other favorite Halloween finds that I’ve gotten post-October 31st:

Clockwise from top left:  1.  Spider Candle Holders from Kohl’s.  |  2.  A “Spooky” Halloween sign from the Christmas Tree Shops.  When I purchased this, I also picked up a matching “Wicked” sign for my BFF.  It makes me smile to look at it every Halloween knowing hers is out and about spreading love {and wickedness} throughout her house too.  |  3.  Resin Trick-or-Treaters from the Christmas Tree Shops.  I love the little bat that hangs off the top left.  So cute I couldn’t resist!  |  4.  A Halloween picture frame also purchased from the Christmas Tree Shops.  It sat empty for a couple of Halloweens before I had the inspired idea to fill it with one of the many gorgeous images I kept seeing in this fall’s glossy magazines.  This pumpkin brittle sign is actually an image cut from the Fall 2013 Williams-Sonoma catalog.  Free, easy, and adorable.

Have you found any great fall sales going on yet?  If so, let me know!

-Shayna

P.S. This completes “7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season.”  If you missed a post, you can view them all by clicking here.

And here’s a final recap so you can see how it all came together at our house:

7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guidee to Embracing the Season @ With Love, From CA

7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season @ With Love, From CA

Happy Fall Decorating!

7 thoughts on “7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 7: Add a Few Seasonal Items Each Year}

    • Exactly! I’ve been stockpiling since college. I started with a few little things from the Dollar Store and the collection has grown and grown each season. It’s also such a fun activity to unpack the holiday decorations each year and see what surprises you have that you forgot about buying, and what decorations come with lovely memories attached to them from all the seasons past.

  1. Each post is more impressive and inspiring than the last. I love all of your fall decorations; especially our matching ones that remind me of you daily! I also love your festive fingernails! Keep up the wonderful blogging, Best Friend! :o)

Leave a Comment

