7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 5: You Can Never Have Too Much Raffia}

Day 5:  You Can Never Have Too Much Raffia.

Raffia is one of my F-A-V-O-R-I-T-E things for fall.  It looks awesome, it’s relatively inexpensive, and you can use it everywhere.  It makes anything look festive.  A basket.  A lamp.  A rock.  Your dog.   Whatever.

This year, I tied raffia around a bunch of mason jars that I had already filled with fall leaves and mini cinnamon-scented pinecones.  I also tied raffia around every single jar candle I could find, which in my house, is a lot.   Warning: if you do this, be careful.  The raffia is flammable.  If you tie it around the middle or even the top of jar candles you should be okay, but I would still suggest placing the candles in a place you can watch them while they’re burning (just in case).

My other favorite thing to do with raffia is use it as a form of string or ribbon to secure things around the house.  For example, I have a really cute ceramic leaf that reads “Home Sweet Home” that I picked up a couple of seasons ago at Jo-Ann Fabrics.  Using raffia, I secured it to the doorknob of my front door and tied it off with a big pretty bow.  I used a similar technique on the door leading from the kitchen to the garage, which displays a small bronze bell that my husband loves and that makes a fantastic tinkling sound every time the door opens and closes.

You can find raffia at any craft store, any time of the year.  It’s usually in the floral or wreath department and can run anywhere from $2.99 to $9.99 depending on the size of the bag or the width of the spool.  Do yourself a favor and get the biggest one you can find.  You can use it season after season and – trust me – you’ll thank me later 😉

-Shayna

6 thoughts on “7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 5: You Can Never Have Too Much Raffia}

  1. That’s it- You’ve inspired me. I’m going to take a trip to Jo-Ann Fabrics this weekend. I’ll let you know how it turns out! This is so great, Shay. Love the blog!

  2. Especially love the raffia tied around a bunch of mason jars filled with fall leaves and mini cinnamon-scented pinecones. I can only imagine how delicious the house smells!

  3. And don’t forget to clip your coupons for a good discount off as well. 40-50%

    I was in there today and got a paper punch for 12.00. Was $19.95. 🙂 Not to bad. And a big hi for you both. I am glad you enjoy crafts Shay. Love you both. Grandma

Leave a Comment

