7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 3: Add a Little Sparkle}

Fall Sparkle 2

Day 3:  Add a Little Sparkle. 

Whether it’s a coat of metallic spray paint or a dusting of shimmering gold glitter, add a little extra something to your fall décor with a bit of sparkle.  I love the look of tiny pumpkins clustered together that have all been spray painted gold.  Or a bowl of pinecones that have been dipped in glitter.  Even tying a sparkly bow around one of those pieces of decorative glass will really make it pop.

As you probably know by now, I’m a rustic kind of girl.  But a new friend told me about her belief that everything must have at least one bit of “sparkle and pop” and I couldn’t agree more.  While most of my fall decorations display hues of burnt orange, olive green, and brown brown brown, I had to find a way to add just a little bit of sparkle.

For me, that sparkle came in two forms.

1.  I have a bunch of fake fall fruit (end of the season find a couple of years ago on sale at Jo-Ann Fabrics) that I usually mix in with my pinecones and decorative glass.  The fruit came in a mixed box where half of it was covered in glittery crystals and half of it was not.  Usually I keep them mixed together, but this year I pulled all the sparkly apples, pears, and pomegranates into a bowl of their very own.  I didn’t want it to be too overwhelming so I used a miniature bowl and tucked the sparkly produce into a shelf on our dark and cozy family room bookshelf.  The white bowl makes it pop, and when the reading lamp above the shelf is on the fruit certainly sparkles and shines.

Fall Sparkle 1

2.  My second bit of sparkle actually came from my Christmas pinecones.  I bought these beauties a couple years ago (once again, end of the season sale at Jo-Ann Fabrics) and have been finding ways to keep them out on display longer and longer past the holiday season each year.  This fall I was inspired to pull them out early and arrange them on these adorable fall leaf trays I had sitting on my coffee table.

Fall Sparkle 2

The trays were beautiful and festive sitting empty through September and most of October, but now that November is almost here, the sparkly pinecones help the leaf trays transition with the season.

Pictured below are some of my favorite bits of fall sparkle that I’ve come across on Pinterest.  I have yet to bring these ideas to life in my own home, but don’t worry, it’s on the to-do list!

Clockwise from Top Left:

1. Gilded Harvest Place Cards by Cupcakes and Cashmere  |  2. Dip Dye Glitter Pumpkins by P.S. Heart  |  3. Glitter Pumpkin Candle Holders by Twig and Thistle  |  4. Metallic Mason Jars by It All Started With Paint  |  5. Metallic and Chalk Paint Pumpkins by Perfectly Imperfect

What’s in your plans to glitter, glam, sparkle, and make pop this holiday season?

-Shayna

Leave a Comment

