7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 2: Dust Off Your Decorative Glass}

Fall Lanterns 1

Day 2:  Dust Off Your Decorative Glass.

It’s time to dig out and dust off your decorative glass.  Any piece of decorative glass you have – you find it – and you use it.  The vase that came with a bouquet of flowers that you have tucked up in a cupboard.  The glass bowl you got for your birthday.  Those old mason jars you have sitting around.  Dust them off, spritz them with a bit of Windex to make them sparkle, and fill ’em on up with pinecones, leaves, acorns, or whatever else you may have discovered outside or on Amazon (see Day 1: Bring Nature Into Your Home).

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love mason jars.  I don’t know what it is about them, but they always seem to crop up around the house and magically multiply themselves.  And at times like this, I’m grateful, because they become my go-to decorating glass of choice.

This year I filled my mason jars with a mixture of regular and cinnamon scented pinecones, as well as a smattering of tiny fall gourds I had laying around.  I placed a couple of the jars up on the fireplace mantle in the family room and a few on our entry way table when you first walk into the house.  It’s a win-win.  They look festive and they smell delicious!

I usually use recycled glass for fall decorating, but this year I also splurged on a set of lanterns from Target’s Threshold collection.  Something similar has been on my wish list for a couple of seasons now, and I finally took the plunge.  I had been eying up Pottery Barn’s Malta Lanterns, which come in a bronze finish and range from $34-$249 depending on size.  Yes, you read that correctly.  $249 for a lantern.  Finding that more than a little outrageous and a bit offensive, I found these very similar bronze lanterns at Target, which only cost $18.49-$25.99.

Above Left: Pottery Barn’s Malta Lanterns | Small {$34} | Medium {$49} | Large {$119} | Extra Large {$249}

Above Right: Target’s Threshold Collection Traditional Lanterns {$18.49-$25.99}

For now, I’ve filled the lanterns with white pillar candles and mini pinecones, which IMHO looks absolutely adorable.  Right now they are sitting on our dining room table, but before that they were on the dining room buffet, and before that they were on the entry way table with the mason jars.

I love that I can keep these out during any season and just rotate the filler accordingly.  Whether you have lanterns or mason jars or just a simple glass bowl, you can do the same.  No matter the season, I like to think that glass will always be in style 🙂

-Shayna

3 thoughts on “7 Days of Fall: A Day-By-Day Guide to Embracing the Season {Day 2: Dust Off Your Decorative Glass}

    • I love Pottery Barn SO much, but sometimes it’s just not affordable. I get giddy when I find something similar somewhere else with a much lower price tag. That being said, I did just splurge on a whole bunch of new PB goodies for the home, so stay tuned for a blog post about my mom’s CA visit and all the damage we did 🙂 Mom + Me + PB = Dangerous

Leave a Comment

